STOP STREOTYPING PLEASE


INTRODUCTION

SAY NO TO IT

STEREOTYPES ARE AS OLD AS HUMAN CULTURE ITSELF. THEY REFLECT IDEAS THAT GROUPS OF PEOPLE HOLD ABOUT OTHERS WHO ARE DIFFERENT FROM THEM. STEREOTYPES CAN BE EITHER POSITIVE (“BLACK MEN ARE GOOD AT BASKETBALL”) OR NEGATIVE (“WOMEN ARE BAD DRIVERS”). BUT MOST STEREOTYPES TEND TO MAKE US FEEL SUPERIOR IN SOME WAY TO THE PERSON OR GROUP BEING STEREOTYPED. STEREOTYPES IGNORE THE UNIQUENESS OF INDIVIDUALS BY PAINTING ALL MEMBERS OF A GROUP WITH THE SAME BRUSH.

RISING STEREOTYPE IN PAKISTANI SOCIETY

MY READERS MUST BE THINKING THAT WHY I AM CRITICIZING PAKISTANI SOCIETY ALWAYS BUT IN MY OPINION CRITICISM SOMETIME LEADS TO POSITIVELY AND CHANGE IN THE SOCIETY. THE THING WHICH I AM OBSERVING IN MY SURROUNDING REALLY IRRITATES ME AND SOME TIME I THINK THAT WHAT SHOULD BE DONE TO CHANGE THE ATTITUDE OF THE PEOPLE.
Why the differences are rising in our society this is all because of the rising stereotyping which is becoming the cause of differences and hatred among us.
Now I am just giving u few real examples of stereotype in my society and this thing should be changed.

‘Oh god you know some Memon send proposal for me’ Rubbish this was stated by my friend on other day. When I asked her that what is bad in it so she replied ‘that you don’t know Memon’ are so Kanjoos (Miser).

MY VIEWS ON THIS:
In my view what ever we stereotype for other communities it’s all because of our family because socializing starts from family and in what way family thinks about other community and casts the children have the same state of min until the mature age and may be their thinking can change then they observe the world. So what ever my friend told me is just because her family thinks like that and since childhood she is getting the same perception about the that community with out having interaction with them.
The fact is that on the basis of stereotype we don’t allow ourselves to have interaction with that particular community and to change our views.

Another example of stereotype is about Pathans. We usually crack jocks about the foolishnesses of Pathan’ without thinking that all are not the same. Another perception we have about Pathans due to on going war on terror we think that all Pathan’ are terrorist without thinking that they are the most affected community from the on going war on terror.

MY OPINION ON THIS.

The thing which I understood when I hear people labeling Pathans’ as terrorists I get an idea that on the basis of people involved in these terrorist activities are from the tribal areas so the basis of that we put all pathans’ under the label of terrorist and in rising this stereotype media is playing a great role. Most of the time I have heard when news anchors explaining the appearance of terrorist first question they say is about the appearance that the person was wearing Shalwar Kameez, he was fair in color so he must be a Pathan this is really not true. And after saying once on media this thing have a great impact on the listeners because this world is the electronic media world and media is playing a great role in making opinion of people.

ONE MORE EXAMPLE
We usually judge people according to the dressing style for example if a person is wearing western style of dress so we consider that person as advanced and if a person is wearing Shalwar Kameeez and speaking in Urdu so we consider that person as Ok I mean not that much good specially youngsters having obsession with English and westerns kind of dressing.

CONCLUSION

I think I should end this discussion now but what ever I said and examples which I gave are totally rite we the people used to think about other communities from different point of view and we always prefer our community, our race, caste as superior and this is the reason of rising stereotyping in Pakistani society. Why I am example o0f my people my society because I have the sense of belonging to this country and its people and if I criticize and so bad about it so it will not affect any other nation. The thing which I am trying to say that stenotype is not a problem in Pakistan but it is rising all around the world especially in European countries but here I am not in a position to criticize other nation and other countries because my own country and its people are having the same problem so, I can only criticize other nation when we get improved and perfect and throw stereotype out of our life’s and this what Islam teaches us that all individuals are equal and concept of superiority and inferiority has no place.
From this post I really didn’t mean to hurt any community emotions but what ever I said I true we have such feeling for other community and it increasing on daily basis so, it’s high time now that should leave behind all stereotypes and unite ourselves on the basis of humanity.

Leave a Reply

